bogus auction for Altair system on eBay

Roger Merchberger zmerch at 30below.com
Wed Feb 22 17:37:10 CST 2006


Rumor has it that Chuck Guzis may have mentioned these words:
>On 2/22/2006 at 4:46 PM Jim Leonard wrote:
>
> >Thunderbird will display the URL of any link you hover over in an
> >email... so the email will say "www.ebay.com" and the actual displayed
> >link during the hover is "201.22.98.34/incoming/.ebay.com".  I've never
> >been phished.
>
>The trickier links exploit the more oddball features of browser addresses.
>   Some older versions of IE, for example will swallow things like
>http://www.ebay.com@1113982819/ (which actually references google).
>Sufficiently obscure to fool the casual user.

Which, when clicked on in Eudora, and opened in Firefox, I get this nice 
little confirmation window, with the title of "Confirm" and the text: You 
are about to log into the site "1113982819" with the username 
"www%2Eebay%2Ecom," but the web site does not require authentication. This 
may be an attempt to trick you. Is "1113982819" the site you want to visit?

Oh, and I've never been phished either, but I have looked at a few websites 
just to see how good/bad the "translation" was and a few I've seen were 
pretty pitiful... If I were a bastard, I'd say that anyone that got phished 
with some of those really bad websites deserve what they get... but I'm 
not, am I??? ;-P

Laterz,
"Merch"

--
Roger "Merch" Merchberger   | Anarchy doesn't scale well. -- Me
zmerch at 30below.com.         |
SysAdmin, Iceberg Computers




More information about the cctalk mailing list