Slightly OT: Bastard plagiarists
Jim Leonard
trixter at oldskool.org
Tue Feb 14 14:10:00 CST 2006
Search apache docs for "referrer" and you'll find it. mod-referrer, I
think.
We do this on mobygames.com -- go ahead and try to link to an image on
your own page to see what you get instead :-)
'Computer Collector Newsletter' wrote:
>>>>have it give different images if the Referrer for the request is his
>
> site.
>
> How do I do that?
>
> I guess you should reply off-list since this is now getting too OT ... sorry
> Jay! :)
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: cctalk-bounces at classiccmp.org [mailto:cctalk-bounces at classiccmp.org]
> On Behalf Of Patrick Finnegan
> Sent: Tuesday, February 14, 2006 12:56 PM
> To: General Discussion: On-Topic and Off-Topic Posts
> Subject: Re: Slightly OT: Bastard plagiarists
>
> On Tuesday 14 February 2006 12:28, 'Computer Collector Newsletter'
> wrote:
>
>>Sure, that couldn't hurt any more, right? :)
>>
>>Seriously, if you think you can talk sense into 'em, then by all
>>means, I would appreciate it.
>
>
> Since he appears to be leeching images from your site, why don't you have
> some fun with him... either move your images, and replace the one's he's
> pointing to with something else (be creative), or have it give different
> images if the Referrer for the request is his site.
>
> Pat
>
>
>>-----Original Message-----
>>From: cctalk-bounces at classiccmp.org
>>[mailto:cctalk-bounces at classiccmp.org] On Behalf Of Gordon JC Pearce
>>Sent: Tuesday, February 14, 2006 5:59 AM
>>To: General Discussion: On-Topic and Off-Topic Posts
>>Subject: Re: Slightly OT: Bastard plagiarists
>>
>>'Computer Collector Newsletter' wrote:
>>
>>>Son of a b--ch! The bastard plagiarist is BACK. I just found
>>>this
>>
>>posted
>>
>>
>>>from five days after he finally removed it the first time:
>>>
>>>http://www.britishinformation.com/chat/showpost.php?p=7144&postcoun
>>>t=1
>>>
>>>Yes, it has my name and link on it, but that DOES NOT CHANGE THE
>>>FACT that he has NO PERMISSION to post my work.
>>>
>>>Last time this moron threated to sue ME ... LOL how can he sue me
>>>for saying "please stop stealing other people's work"...!?
>>
>> Administrative Contact
>> Sarah Meheux: domainadmin at britishinformation.com
>> Stem Distribution Ltd
>> 64 Queens Road
>> Beckenham, Kent BR3 4JL
>> GB
>> Phone 44 208 249 2690
>> Fax 44 208 249 2690
>>
>>Want me to give them a phone?
>>
>>Gordon.
>
>
> --
> Purdue University Research Computing --- http://www.rcac.purdue.edu/
> The Computer Refuge --- http://computer-refuge.org
--
Jim Leonard (trixter at oldskool.org) http://www.oldskool.org/
Help our electronic games project: http://www.mobygames.com/
Or check out some trippy MindCandy at http://www.mindcandydvd.com/
A child borne of the home computer wars: http://trixter.wordpress.com/
More information about the cctech
mailing list